It has been a very lazy week. The air is already heavy with festive mood.

Everyone seems very busy but there is always time to hang out and meet new people, making new friends, sharing interests, and updating the latest news our lifestyle could offer.

Lately, despite my keenness on anything Paleo, I’m starting to shape my diet with any food that benefits and nourishes my body and soul. Simply said, sometimes I cheat on Paleo.

Why?

Basically, before I want to eat anything, I asked myself, “What do I want to eat today?”

And whatever comes up (a few months ago, I usually dismissed it when it doesn’t comply with my Paloe rules), I will try to respect it.

But most of the times, my reason to cheat on Paleo is because I’m trying to turn my eating style to “Intuitarian” — the attempt to eat food that intuitively makes me feel deeply better (if not happier) in mind, body, and spirit.

My Paleo heroes are Mark Sisson, Robb Wolf, and Michelle Tam. Michelle’s recipes encouraged me to start cooking Paleo foods, her style in writing and sharing is very simple and funny. I had a quick crush already. Mark and Robb are health enthusiasts and super nutrient seekers, yet I followed their updates almost religiously to the extent that I felt I was being absurd. Then I decided that I’ll just follow them when I feel their information hit home run.

So through Mark’s website I found this introduction about how most people are looking to not only changing their lifestyle to Paleo, but to anything that could make their health the better… even if it includes food that came from the forbidden food group. (Okay, no Paleo police here? Good!)

The food ingredient I’m including now in my recipe is from the nightshade family: potatoes. Since it has Resistant Starch and I’m not having any nightshade allergy issues, I have incorporated potatoes every once per few weeks in my meals. Including today’s lunch menu.

So let me share with you this super duper hot Beef Liver, Potato, and Meat Balls in Fried Chilli Chutney recipe. If you have to stay in Paleo strict diet or are allergic to nightshade veggies, then do omit the potatoes, or maybe change them with sweet potatoes. It will work the same.

You will need:

A big frying pan

Knife board

Food processor

Meat hammer

Spatula (I used wooden spatula)

Metal bowl

Knives

Ingredients:

Beef liver 200g (boiled not too long, to keep tenderness, diced)

Minced beef 500g

Potato 500g (diced)

1 teaspoon coriander powder

1 teaspoon ginger powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon nutmeg powder

1 egg

3 Tbsp tapioca starch

  • To be grind together:
    • 15 red chilli pepper (can be reduced)
    • 4 huge shallots (peeled)
    • 15 small red chilli (can be dismissed)
    • 8 garlic (peeled)
    • 2 sliced fresh ginger (peeled)

P1110635 copy

P1110666 copy P1110667 copy P1110668 copy P1110671 copy

2 teaspoon gallangal powder

5 kefir lime leaf

P1110678 copy

5 bay leaf

P1110679 copy

2 lemon grass

P1110669 copy

80 ml coconut milk + 1 cup water

5 teaspoon coconut oil

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 Tbsp coconut aminos

How to:

1. Prepare the minced beef in  a metal bowl

2. Put the coriander, nutmeg, pepper, salt, and ginger powder, with the egg and tapioca starch, mix it well

mixed mince beef

3. Now let’s make the meat balls. If you prefer smaller or bigger size, it’s your choice. I personally was too lazy to make smaller sizes.

I put them on a baking sheet, it won’t be sticky, and after use I can always throw it away

raw meat balls

4. Grab 2 teaspoon of coconut oil, heat it on the frying pan

coconut oil

5. When the oil is ready, start frying the meat balls one by one until all are fried

P1110653 copy

6. Check the oil, if it is starting to disappear due to heavy absorbance of the meat, don’t be too stingy to add more to the pan. We don’t want them to get sticky, yes?

Now the beef liver, it should be boiled and then diced like this:

P1110650 copy

And then you better fry them all until darkish. Put them aside

fried beef liver

7. Have the diced potato ready. I usually cover them with water for a while

diced potato raw

In the same pan, put the potatoes in, fry them until goldish. Put them aside

fried diced potato

fried potatoes

8. While waiting the diced potatoes getting fried, we can prepare the chutney ingredients. Put the red chilli pepper, shallots, garlics, small red chilli, and sliced ginger inside the food processor and grind them until smooth.

spices

9. Add more coconut oil to the pan

coco oil

10. Pour the food processor mix to the pan. Add gallangal, lemon grass, kefir lime leaf, and bay leaf.

mixed chutney raw

11. Make sure that the chutney is well cooked (Clue: no smell of raw chilli or raw shallot). Add oil as needed.

12. After the smell indicates that all parts are equally cooked, add the beef liver, meat balls, and fried potatoes. Stir them thoroughly.

fried chutney and meat balls and beef liver and potatoes

13. Then add the coconut milk, water, maple syrup, and coconut aminos. Water may be added more due to thickness of the chutney.

add coconut milk

13. Add salt to taste. For this recipe, I put 4 teaspoon of ground pink himalayan salt.

Stop! We ain’t finish yet.

Now let’s get ready to make the Mashed Cauliflower, shall we?

You will need:

A steamer

A bowl or plate

Tongs

Fork

Food processor

Knife

Ingredients:

Half cauliflower

125g unsalted grassfed butter

1 tsp pepper powder

1 tsp nutmeg powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp dried thyme

How to:

1. Prepare the steamer until the steam starts appearing.

P1110658 copy

2. Clean the cauliflower and put it on a bowl or plate. Then, put it inside the steamer until tender.

P1110655 copy

tendered

3. Transfer the cauliflower into the food processor (I used tongs so the water on the plate/bowl won’t be included too). Followed by butter, salt, pepper, and nutmeg

cauliflower in food processor

4. Blend until smooth. Pour into a plate or bowl (I used the same plate that I used for steaming)

cauliflower mashed

5. Sprinkle with dried thyme

sprinkled

Then I took a heap full of Mashed Cauliflower, and two spoonful of Beef Liver, Potato, and Meat Balls in Fried Chilli Chutney (Ultra Hot) for lunch. Let me tell you, they are totally delicious.

lunch

Enjoy!

L

Source:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/resistant-starch-your-questions-answered/#axzz3KpvnNdhK

http://www.justtryandtaste.com/2013/09/sambal-goreng-hati.html

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/

http://robbwolf.com/

http://nomnompaleo.com/

Leave a Reply

