Each week I counted the days that passed as we nearing towards the New Year’s holiday,

the plan is for a road trip to the neighbouring states, and this is especially significant for us because this would be our first time doing a road trip into new states, for a week, just the two of us. No one else would be of bother. Now to think of it, hub did offer his cousin to come along, of which his cousin mindfully refused — I did a mental gratitude dancing afterwards. Yea, that’s hub, my golden hearted man. (And yes, I’m quite aware that I’m playing the pretend-to-be-oblivious card.)

Yet we have a bit of problem. Ever since we planned this trip, we have been looking around, trying to decide what bag we should buy since we only have one backpack. As usual I was given the task to research what brand, type and price that would suit us pleasantly. I’ve tried from Macpac, Mountain Design, Northface, Deuter, Crumpler, Blackwolf, Kathmandu, to Alpine.

And until this morning, I was quite sure that for the holiday I’ll be using the only available luggage my mother-in-law gave me as a present years ago. Hm. Apparently, the universe has another plan for me.

This morning, after I dropped hub by his office, just 30 min earlier than his normal starting hour, and I went back through the same road, but on the reverse lane, I noticed something was laying on the ground on my left kerb. An orange backpack. Underneath a tree in front of a house.

I squinted. But I was driving too fast, so I turned at the nearest intersection, squared the block, and when I returned to the same road, I slowed my speed, and stopped in front of the house where the strayed bag was sitting.

I got out of the car, quickly checking the bag, looking towards the house if anyone was around, just to make sure that the bag was indeed thrown away and nobody wants it. But no one was in the vicinity, and I knew that most of the time when the owner put the bag (or any item) out on the kerb was because he/she didn’t want it anymore. So, what’s the harm? I put it on my back seat and drove away. Still not believing my luck.

It was an orange Blackwolf, 75lt Grand Royale. And it was still in a very good condition, not smelly or dirty at all.

Then something inside me had to say it with enough kick,

“The trip will be definite.” Amen.

So for the occasion that I found a bag that we both truly really need, I decided to cook something delicious, and the main ingredient would be: oxtail.

(Because I’ve been having it for weeks, laying around untouched since I was too lazy to prep it.)

So after browsing some quite good recipes, I decided to improvise it as usual to suit my paleo style menus.

This time, I’m making a Fried Oxtail with Veggie Soup. You can eat it with rice, or cauliflower rice, or mashed cauliflower (like I do), or mashed potatoes (like some do), or anything else you prefer…sourdoughs maybe?

You will need:

Frying pan

Big soup pots (for 4-6 ltr, and for 2 ltr)

Pressure cooker

Veggie knife

Cutting boards

Bowls

Plates

Peeler

Scissor

Ingredients:

1 kg oxtail

1 kg of chuck bones (to make beef broth — or you can use 2ltr ready-to-use beef broth)

2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 thumb sized fresh ginger (or 1 Tbsp ginger powder)

1 tomato

2 carrots (1 peeled, 1 peeled + sliced) *

3 cabbage leaf (I cut it thinly with scissor) *

500 gr green beans (diced) *

1 onion (peeled)

3 garlic cloves (minced)

1 cinnamon bark (around 5 – 7 cm)

4 cloves

Ghee

Salt and Pepper to taste

Flour ingredients:

  • 4 Tbsp tapioca powder
  • 3 Tbsp potato starch
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp chilli pepper powder
  • 2 tsp garlic granules, dried rosemary, and onion powder mix

* You can add or discard the amount

How to:

If you have ready-to-use beef broth, you can skip to step no 4.

1. Boil 4 ltr of filtered water on a big soup pot.

2. Add chuck bones, apple cider vinegar, ginger, 1 carrot (peeled), onion, tomato, lower the heat until boils

P1110702 copy

3. If you don’t like the scum, use a small strainer or spatula to collect them on a ceramic/metal bowl and after the broth is clear, throw away the content of the bowl to the sink or toilet, and let the broth simmer

4.In a different pot, I used pressure cooker, I fill it up with enough water, apple cider vinegar, and oxtail and let it boil until the meat is tender. Strain and discard the water.

oxtail boiled

5. Now melt a spoonful of ghee on a 2 ltr non-sticky pot, and fry the minced garlic, with cloves and cinnamon bark.

cooking garlic, cinnamon bark, and cloves

6. After the garlic turned goldish, add 2 ltr of beef broth into the pot (you can use soup laddle), and lower the heat. Let simmer.

added broth

7. While the soup is simmering, I prepped the flour ingredients.

flour ingredients

8. Put the boiled oxtail in the mixture and cover it thoroughly with the flour. Do it to all.

oxtail on flour

floured oxtail

9. On a frying pan (I used a small pot), I melt another spatula-full of ghee. I needed the melted ghee to be high enough to cover most of the sides that are being submerged. If the pan not too big, then the ghee needed wouldn’t be too much though it will definitely takes a few batch to cook them all.

frying oxtail

fried oxtail

10. Once the fried oxtail ready, turn the heat on the soup higher, and put in the carrot (peeled + sliced), green bean and cabbage leaf. Once boil turn it off and add salt and pepper to taste.

veggie soup

Grab a bowl, put some veggie soup and a piece of the fried oxtail, sprinkle some fried shallots, and eat’em while still warm.

Enjoy!

L

Sources:

http://www.indotopinfo.com/resep-sop-buntut-goreng.htm

http://www.justtryandtaste.com/2010/12/sop-iga.html

Leave a Reply

