Carrot Brownies Paleo

This moment of the season I am carrot fangirl-ing. Used to treat it as a mandatory veggie in the

kitchen, mostly to add in broth, now a new light was shed to show me how this orange thing had been benefitting my digestive system naturally.

But  the most delicate recipe for it only presents itself in the form of raw juice. In 1 day, I could take up to 3 cups carrot juice — more is alright though not necessarily will do anything to benefit me.

So, as you can imagine, 3 cups of carrot juice, that would leave me with quite a pile of carrot pulps. Yeah I can compost it, bin it, feed it to my worms, or … make some other recipe out of it. And so since I’m writing in this blog sharing mostly about recipes, of course I chose to eat the pulp!

Anyway, this recipe is heavily influenced by EatDrinkPaleo’s brownie recipe. I only tweaked it a bit to suit my ingredients.

So, the consistency, juicy melt in the mouth feel possibly quite similar, maybe because I’m a bit avoiding fructose at the moment, made my carrot brownie taste more savoury than sweet. You can change it to its original choice of sweetener, which is honey.

You will need:

3 cups carrot pulp

3 whole raw eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup rice malt syrup (or honey, date paste, maple syrup)

3/4 – 1 cup melted coconut oil

3/4 cup cacao/chocolate/carob powder (I used cacao powder)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 coconut flour

pinch of salt

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 185 C
  2. Add the wet ingredients in a large mixing bowl: carrot pulp, eggs, vanilla extract, rice malt syrup, and coconut oil. Mix them well.
  3. Add cacao powder (or your choice of cocoa), salt, baking soda, baking powder. Mix them well.
  4. Add coconut flour. Mix them well.
  5. Prepare a baking dish. I used a rectangle enamel one. Brush coconut oil on the inside. 
  6. Put the brownies mix into the baking dish. Try to flatten its surface and make it compact.
  7. Bake for 50-60 minutes. It was longer than I anticipated because the coconut oil and egg needed more time to firm up.

Enjoy!

L

Source:

http://eatdrinkpaleo.com.au/chocolate-brownies-that-blew-me-away/

Leave a Reply

